The Dutch palace or Mattancherry palace was originally built by the Portuguese and presented to the Raja of Cochin, Veera Kerala Varma in 1555. It was later taken over by the Dutch who improved it through extensions and repairs in 1663.Since then it came to be called the Dutch Palace though at no time did the Portuguese nor th Dutch stayed there. Today it is a portrait gallery of the Cochin Rajas. The double storied quadrangular building surrounds a central courtyard containing a Hindu Temple. In the centre is the coronation hall where the Cochin Rajas held their ceremonious coronation. On display here are the dresses, turbans, weapons and palanquins from that era. The highlight of the palace is the 17th century mural paintings of mythological figures and scenes from Ramayana in the tradition of Hindu temple art. The floor of the palace reveals the unique traditional Kerala technique of achieving a polished black surface by combining egg white, coconut shell, charcoal and lime and accomplishment worth admiring Timings: 10 am to 5 pm. Closed of Fridays and National Holidays.
The Synagogue at Mattancherry built in 1568, The Great Scrolls of the Old Testament, the Copper Plates on which the grants of privilege made by the Cochin rulers were recorded and the exquisite Chinese hand-painted tiles are of interest, is the oldest Synagogue in the Common Wealth Countries. It was partially destroyed in the war of 1662, but was rebuilt by Dutch. In the mid 18th century the clock.tower was added. Its floors are paved with exquisite had painted blue-willow tiles imported from China. Of these no two tiles are alike. The great scrolls of the old testament the copper plates in which the grands of privilege made by the Cochin Rules were recorded and the exquisite Chinese and Painted Tiles are of great interest. The Synagogue is open from 10 am to 12 noon and 3 pm to 5 pm on all days except Saturdays and Jewish holidays. The boasts of Rabbi gives visitors a full account of the synagogue and the history of the Jews in Kerala. Although this ancient community of Cochin has new dwindled to Hebrew language remain in Jew Town.
St.Francies Church,fort kochi
Reputed to the the oldest church in India built by the Europeans (The Protestant church was built originally by the Portuguese in AD 1510 and is believed to be the first church built by Europeans in India).It is situated in Fort Cochin 10 km. away from style and renamed St. Francis of Assisi Church.Vasco Da Gama the Governor of Portuguese territories in India was buried in here before his mortal remains were taken to Portugal, fourteen years after his death.But the original tablet still remains here. Old records of the Church can been seen here. The most important one is the “Doop Book” of the Dutch Baptismal register maintained till 1804. Some old cadjan leaf manuscripts preserved in the church give information about the life of the Portuguese and Dutch settlers here. Grave stones from the graves of Vasco Da Gama and Portuguese and Dutch are embedded on the walls of Church. Brass tablets in memory of many Europeans especially the English are also embedded on the walls.
Santa cruiz basilica church
This Roman Catholic church is situated near the St. Francis church and is worth a visit. It is a specimen of Portuguese architecture built in 1503. ‘Frescoes’ and mural paintings decorate the ceiling and interior parts of the church. The gothic architecture and the lofty spires gives it a unique grandeur.
Bolghatty palace built by the Dutch in 1744. Later it became the seat of the British Resident of Cochin. Today it is a hotel run by K.T.D.C. The grounds have a small golf course & several vantage points for lovely views of the harbour & the sea.
Connected to the mainland by road-cum-railway Venduruthy Bridge, Willington Island is named after the former Viceroy of India, Lord Willington. It is a manmade Island created from the materials dredged while deepening Cochin Port. Willington Island sites some of the district’s best hotels, Trading and industrial offices. Besides the airport, ship building yard, wharf, the Southern Naval Command Head Quarters, the willington island,kochi customs house and the Cochin Chamber of Commerce and Industries, the government of India Tourist Information office is situated here. Many offices, branches of national and international banks, travel agencies, souvenir shops warehouses can also be found here.
Chinese Fishing net
A legacy of the trading connections between China and India many centuries ago. The long rows of Chinese Nets silhouetted against the sunset present a spectacular sight of Cochin’s waterfront. These are large nets which hang from bamboo or teak posts, still to be in use by the local fisher folk of Fort Cochin. Cochin Boat Rides The highlight of Cochin is a boat ride through all the islands. The city face a broad expense of backwaters studded with palm-flanged islets.
The Hill palace Museum,kochi
The largest archeological museum of Kerala , Hill Palace Museum is 13 Kms from Cochin. It displays the erstwhile wealth and prosperity of the royal family of Cochin, including the King’s throne and crown. Paintings, carvings, etchings are displayed in the museum which is located on the Ernakulam – Chottanikkara route.
Museum of kerala history,Edapilly
Important scenes of Kerala history are portrayed through through Sculptures. Greeting the visitor outside is a statue of Parasurama ,the mythological safe who is said to have created Kerala. The other places worth visiting are Alwaye, situated 20km north of Ernakulam on the banks of river Periyar, Chottanikkara Bhagavathy temple which is an important pilgrim place for Hindus Kalady, Malayattoor which is located on the slopes of the Western Ghats & is an important Christian pilgrim centre, Bhoothathankettu, Thattekad Bird Sanctuary etc.
By Air : Nearest airport is Cochin International Airport at Nedumbassery, 30 km from Cochin
By rail: Ernakulam Junction and Ernakulam town are the main railway stations
By Road: Cochin is well connected by roads from all major parts of India.
- About us
- Tour Packages
- Tour Planner